+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Lampworking While Pregnant...

Default Lampworking While Pregnant...

HA! No, I'm not pregnant... at my age? Sheesh! ;-)

As an instructor, I'd like to have answers to questions about any issues related to torchwork while pregnant. I've read some stuff, and I have some experience regarding fumes and ventilation. If someone wants to take a basic lampworking class that only involves making beads with regular old Effetre glass and nothing else (no metals, frit, or powders), would this pose any problems? The torches are Minor bench burners, set up in a large building with no ceilings other than the roof, with an open window and skylight in and near the roof. There are no fans going, but nobody has ever had any issues in there with CO. What say you, oh lords of safety?

Shirley,

You could add a CO monitor and then you'd be sure that the level was safe.

I can't think of any reason why a pregnancy would deter someone from learning to make beads--if her arms are long enough!

I'll be interested to hear what others have to say.

Nolly

I personally think the ventilation is inadequate for any torch work... Let alone for some one who is pregnant...

Here you have multiple torches running at same time under condition's that have been repeatedly stated as not safe in our home studios...

Does the fact it has a skylight and a tall ceiling make it safe.. NO... Not even if skylight is able to open which above question does not state whether this is possible or not.... Even if sky light were open to outside, you have to rely on convection to carry out contaminated air (combustion byproducts) and if there is a bad draft (wind/storm) that is reversing the convection flow, its blowing all the things we are trying to avoid right back at you.....

Dale

Unhappy

Hi Shirley, holy merd! I almost thought it was YOU who was pregnant, LOL!!